Uncategorized

What does fruit, Johnny Manziel, and honey have in common?

They all come up in today’s Friday Funbag!!!

Today I thought I’d answer some of your questions!!  Nothing better than being able interact with you fine individuals and helping in any way I can.

So here we goooooooooo!

1.) Is fruit bad for me? -Sara

This is one of those questions that bring to mind how out of touch we are with food.  We have grown to be afraid!! No worries, I have an answer for you anyways.

I think it’s important to look at context of food.  I’ve said it before and will say it again but food is not inherently bad.  Take a step back and look at the big picture.  Go through how you eat over the course of the day and see the role certain foods play. If you ONLY eat fruit throughout the day, then ya you might want to take another look at things.  If you drink a massive fruit smoothie for breakfast, you might want to add in some fat and protein to go with it.  A little carb here and there isn’t the end of the world.

So no, fruit isn’t bad and you don’t need to fear it.  Just don’t make it the staple of your meals.

2.) How many calories should I take in? – Daniel

This is always a tough question to answer.  This question seems to pop up in a majority of the coaching I do so I wanted to use this forum to answer it.  I also have a quick video that will help!

There are quite a few factors for you to take into consideration:

What is your level of activity?  How are you sleeping? What are your goals? What is the quality of your food like?

The higher your activity level, the more calories you will need.  Not sleeping well?  Worry less on the calorie number and be more intentful with how you sleep. Are you trying to put on mass or lose weight?  The number will be different based off the goal.  Are you eating 100 calorie snacks or whole foods?  That makes a difference as well.

So Daniel, I’d like to say that you need to answer those questions for yourself, be authentic with your answers and get back to me!

3.) Will Johnny Manziel get his act together? – TMZ

It sure doesn’t look like it.  Besides, as a Browns fan I have moved on.  It’s time for RGIII.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 9.52.15 AM

4.) Will eating a lot of protein wreck my kidneys? – Concerned mom

There is this idea out there that eating high amounts of protein or consuming protein powder is bad for you. Bottom line is that high protein intake hasn’t been shown to adversely affect kidney function in healthy people.  It has however been shown to accelerate kidney damage in people affected by kidney disease.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 9.53.55 AM

The whiskey on the other hand….

 

5.) What’s better: coconut nectar, honey, or agave nectar? -Jenn

Right off the bad coconut nectar and agave nectar are pretty much equivalent.  Obviously different plants but same result.  Are they any healthier than one another: nawwww.

My choice would be a local honey as the best out of the three options. There are a lot of studies out there touting the benefit of a good local honey (support the local guy) and I think it tastes better! Worried about the sugar? See question 1.

Thank you so much for your questions!! Keep them coming! Email me ben@avenufit.com to submit your question or leave it in the comment section below!!!

Feel free to join the squad and follow the blog to stay up to date with all the good stuff we have going on!

 

 

2 thoughts on “What does fruit, Johnny Manziel, and honey have in common?

Leave a comment